Unilorin Alumni Honours Prof Olu Obafemi Saturday

Spread the love

Prof. Olu Obafemi, the sole winner of the 2018 Nigerian National Order of Merit (NNOM) Humanities Category will be specially recognised and honoured by the alumni of the University of Ilorin, FCT chapter on Saturday 8th December 2018 in Abuja.

At a pre-event chat, Barrister Olusegun Adekunle, Permanent Secretary (General Services) in the office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF), who also doubles as the Abuja Chapter Chairman of the Unilorin Alumni Association, said this year’s event will have only one awardee unlike in the past.

Obafemi who was a former President of the Nigerian Academy of Letters (NAL) was also the chairman of the local Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) was described as a teacher of teachers, literary icon, poet and an erudite scholar will be the only recipient honoree at this epoch making event.

The 2018 Alumni re-union of the University of Ilorin, is scheduled to hold at the pool side of the BMT Gardens in Wuse 11, Abuja.

Guests from within and outside the University of Ilorin community are also expected at this occasion including distinguished alumnus and former Vice Chancellor, Prof. Ishaq Oloyede who is presently the Registrar of the Joint Admission and Matriculation Board (JAMB);

Also expected is the National President of the alumni association, Dr Rhoda Oduwaiye as well as the Director General of the Consumer Protection Council, Barrister Tunde Irukera. Another guest listed to be be expected include renowned actor, Barrister Tunji Bamisigbin amongst others.

According to a statement by Ridwan Olalekan Abdullahi, the yearly event serves as homecoming for every alumni of the University of Ilorin in the FCT and its environs.

Credit: Gong News

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *