Kogi Assembly Reverses Suspension of 8 Members Over Alleged Involvement in Terrorism

Spread the love

The Kogi State House of Assembly has absolved eight of its members from allegations related to terrorism and reinstated them into the legislative body.

The suspension of Olusola Kilani (Ijumu), Bello Hassan (Ajaokuta), Muhammed Lawi Ahmed (Okene I), Moses Akande (Ogori/Magongo), Aderonke Aro (Yagba West), Daniya Ranyi (Bassa), Atule Igbunu (Ibaji), Atachaji Musa (Idah), and Muktar Bajeh (Okehi) was announced by the State Assembly on March 24, 2023.

Also, two suspended local government council chairmen, Moses Olorunleke of Kabba-Bunu and William Iko-ojo of Ibaji, were cleared of the allegations.

The decision to suspend these lawmakers and chairmen was prompted by a letter from Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello, which pointed to security reports alleging their involvement in acts of terrorism.

The House in a voice vote conducted by the Speaker of the House, Rt Hon Matthew Kolawole unanimously cleared the eight lawmakers two council chairmen of the suspected crimes.

This was after the Speaker, Matthew Kolawole had read a letter from Governor Yahays Bello requesting for their clearance against the backdrop of a report from the Department of State Security Service.

The report of the ad hoc committee investigating the alleged crimes read by its Chairman who is the Deputy Speaker, Rt Hon Alfa Momoh Rabiu also cleared the eight lawmakers, except Bello Hassan Abdullah of Ajaokuta.

Spread the love