Kogi Speaker Wins ‘Best Legislator’ Award

Spread the love

The Speaker of the Kogi State House of Assembly, Rt. Honourable Mathew Kolawole has been commended for investing on his constituency’s educational intervention programmes.

In a letter nominating the Speaker as the 2017 recipient of ‘best legislator award’ by the BEBM Exhibitions, Kolawole’s support for education in his constituency was described as a as way of building a generation of future leaders capable of bringing forth credible leadership towards attaining innovations and promoting research and job creation. The letter signed by the secretary of BEBM Advisory Council, Chief Benjamin Fejuku, the Baaolo of Oworo Kingdom said Kolawole’s constituency support programmes have been acclaimed to be second to none in this legislative session.

The letter also listed the other achievements of the Honourable Speaker that earned him the award to include accessibility to the electorates, regular interaction with his constituents, youths vocational empowerment programmes and above all, his widows and less privileged empowerment programme.

The Award, which will be presented to him on Thursday 14th December, 2017, is the climax of the nomination and various presentation ceremonies which saw three members of the Assembly; Hon. Moses Ododo (Dekina-Biraidu); Hon. Idris Ndako (Lokoja II) and the Chief Whip of the Kogi State House of Assembly Hon. Victor Omofaye being decorated as Distinguished Legislators of the year.

According to the Secretary, the presentation ceremony will be used to drum support for non-violent election processes as the 2019 election year approaches, insisting that it make no sense going violent in exercising ones right to vote for or to be voted for.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *