Conditional Cash Transfer a Tool For Poverty Alleviation – Shiru

Spread the love

By Yabagi Musa.
The Administrator of Lokoja Local Government Area, Hon. Shiru Lawal has described the introduction of the conditional cash transfer as a tool for the alleviation of poverty among our aged and rural poor.
The Administrator state this when the coordinators of the social investment programme were in an interactive section in the council.
He maintained that poverty is the greatest human challenge requiring every responsible government to put up structures aimed at addressing the scourge.
He commendable President Muhammadu Buhari for bringing succour to the poorest of the poor in the most remotest of communities and thanked Governor Yahaya Bello for ensuring that the state government’s counterpart funding was provided, saying your plead for additional 40 communities in Lokoja Lg instead of 30 demonstrates  how committed you are to the plights of the rural poor in our domain and the state at large.
Also speaking, the Special Adviser to Governor, On Multilateral Donor Agency and Special Project/ Focal Person on Social Investment Programme, Hon. Ibrahim Adoga, stated that the Conditional Cash Transfer was aimed at poverty alleviation for the poor and vulnerable households in the communities to cope with risk and improve human capital development.
He commendable the governor for putting up  good structure and for backing up all the programmes with the state’s counterpart funding to support their operations with a furnished and digitised modern office.
Earlier, Mrs. Falilat Abdulrazak, the Unit Head of CCT in Kogi State, stated that 131 facilitators trained previously from 12 local government areas had commenced work in their various communities saying, 9000 beneficiaries are already receiving the monthly cash transfer of N5000 in the 21 LGAs in the state.
“We have 82 facilitators selected on the basis of the number of wards across the nine LGAs; though all the wards were not covered as the selection was based on Community Based Targeting ( CBT) by the office of YESSO,”she added
The additional nine local governments are: Mopamuro, Ankpa, Bassa, Omala, Idah. Kogi, Igalamela, Ogorimagogo and Yagba East Local Government Areas.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *