Kogi-born Journalist Nominated for Nigerian Writers Award

Spread the love

Samuel Oluwagbemi Ahmadu, SavidNews Sports Editor and Goal.com correspondent has been nominated for the 2015 Nigerian Writers Awards.

Ahmadu, a Kogi born journalist was shortlisted alongside seven other top sports correspondents in the country following his nomination for this year’s NWA which closed on 5 October 2015.

The up-and-coming journalist, who recently returned from a self-sponsored coverage of the Fifa 2015 Women’s World Cup in Canada, had few of his articles considered by the Award Jury for the 2015 Sports Writers of Year Award.

According to the award organisers on their official website, Ahmadu was nominated in the Sports category along six others: Punch duo of Pius Ayinor and Arukaino Umukoro; Shina Oludare Charles, his colleague with Goal.com, and Victor Akhidenor of The Cable.

Ahmadu, a Sports Editor at SavidNews and Senior Correspondent with Goal.com, is a well-traveled journalist who has covered several sporting activities, especially football record an incredible progress in his chosen career, hence deserving of honour.

Ahmadu, who is a grassroots official of the Sports Writers fraternity and media representatives to various sports organisations has raked huge credits for his passion, perseverance and amazing sports writing skills.

Ahmadu’s incredible contributions since joining the world largest special sport platform, Goal.com, has had the Kogi born reporter fast turning into an icon and hot prospect in the journalism profession.

Sports Writers of the Year is one of the 24 categories included by the organizers with some others like Entertainment Writers of the Year, Features Writer of the Year, Business Writer of the Year, Crime Writer of the Year, Political Writer of the Year, Song Writer of the Year, amongst others.

Also, other nominees shortlisted are the likes of Chimamanda Adichie, Adekunle Gold, Timi Dakolo, Sound Sultan, Asa, Cobham Asuquo, Olamide, Korede Bello, Phyno, Reminisce amongst others.

Winners of this year’s NWA awards will be announced in yet to be fixed date January next year.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *