Kogi Assembly Reinstates Suspended 3 Local Govt Council Chairmen, Ijumu SLG

Spread the love

Kogi State House of Assembly has cleared the remaining three Local Government Chairmen who were alleged to have engaged in terrorism and electoral violence.

The council chairmen are Goke Oparison, Ogori/Magongo; Pius Kolawole, Yagba West and Muktar Muhammed, Bassa.

The Speaker, Prince Mathew Kolawole, had read a correspondence received from the Department of State Security Service absolving the council chairmen of the alleged crimes.

In a voice vote, the House unanimously voted for the lifting of the suspension order on the three council chairmen.

Similarly, the House reinstated the Ijumu Local Government Secretary, Alex Obaropo, who was removed from office by the legislative council.

His reinstatement followed a correspondence from Governor Yahaya Bello and was read by Speaker Mathew Kolawole.

The Speaker explained that it was not the House that removed the reinstated Council Scribe while directing the Clerk of the House to convey the resolution of the House to Ijumu LG Chairman, Hon Taofiq Isah.

Spread the love