EFCC to Quiz Ibro and 4 Other Ex-Govs

Spread the love

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has concluded arrangements to pounce on five former governors sacked by the Supreme Court on Friday.

Ibro and the other ex-governors have lost their constitutional immunity from interrogation and prosecution as contained in Section 308 of the 1999 Constitution as amended as a result of the ruling that sent them packing from office.

The spokesman of the EFCC, Mr. Wilson Uwujaren, who later confirmed the development said: “The commission will pick them up for questioning on Monday, based on petitions written against them by stakeholders.”

He added that the commission had concluded plans to invite the ex-governors even while they were in office, but tarried because of the immunity clause.

Former governors Ibrahim Idris (Kogi), Admiral Murtala Nyako (Adamawa), Timipre Sylva (Bayelsa), Liyel Imoke (Cross River) and Aliyu Wamakko (Sokoto) would be invited tomorrow to answer questions over allegations of corruption.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *