Tourism Expert, Badaki Heads Ijumu Day Planning Committee

Spread the love

Hospitality and tourism expert, Alh. Aliyu Badaki is to chair the planning committee for the repackaged Ijumu Cultural Festival, a celebration of the unique culture of the people of Ijumu Local Government Area of Kogi State.

Alh. Aliyu, who is the 1st Deputy President of Federation of Tourism Association of Nigeria (FTAN), was inaugurated alongside 12 others by the Olujumu of Ijumu Kingdom, His Majesty, Oba Williams Olusegun Ayeni.

The Ijumu Paramount Ruler, while inaugurating the Committee, charged them to justify the confidence reposed in them as their choice was based on competence and track record of wealth of experience.

According to him, the culture of Ijumu land are going into extinction and are being replaced with foreign culture that are inimical and strange.

He explained that Ijumu culture is synonymous to that of Ile Ife, saying his leadership is committed to reviving the said culture, the plan to organize the first Ijumu Cultural Festival.

Oba Olusegun-Ayeni also noted that the aim of the cultural festival was to bring every community in the local government together in unity, using the instrumentality of culture.

He urged them to carry every community along as the festival is also aimed at raising fund for the completion of the abandoned Palace project.

Responding on behalf of others, the Chairman of the Ijumu Cultural Festival Central Planning Committee, Alh. Aliyu Badaki said the committee has accepted the responsibility to set the pace of cultural festival in Okun land and Kogi.

Alh. Aliyu maintained that the committee will work round the clock towards ensuring that the Ijumu Culture is enriched and promoted to the entire world.

He solicited the support and cooperation of all Ijumu sons and daughters to enable them succeed in the task ahead.

The Cultural Festival is scheduled for 4th of November, 2023 at the Olujumu’s Palace.

Other committee members are; Prince Dayo Akanmode, Prince Jeminiwa Emmanuel, Yeye Funmi Bodunde, Alh. Muritala Akintola, Chief Kayode Olorunmaiye, Bro O.J. Dare and a veteran journalist, Elder Tunde Ipinmisho.

The rest members are; Engr. Femi Salami, Chief Pedro Durotiwon, Chief Israel Oshafunmi, Chief Mrs. Bola Sani while Comrade Ahmed-Ade Fatai is to serve as Secretary.

Spread the love