Senate Passes Bill to Establish Kabba, Five Other Centres, as Law School Campuses Hit 12

Spread the love

By Ralph Agbana.

The Senate Tuesday passed the bill seeking for the establishment of a campus of the Nigerian Law School in Kabba, Kogi State.

The Kabba campus alongside five others will increase the number of campuses of the Law School from six to 12.

The Bill entitled: ”A bill for an act to amend the Legal Education (Consolidation ETC.) Act by establishing the campuses for the Nigerian Law School, and for other related matters”, was sponsored by Senator Smart Adeyemi (Kogi West).

Adeyemi in his argument noted that the Nigerian Law School is an educational institution set up to provide Nigerian legal education to foreign-trained lawyers, and to also provide practical training for aspiring legal practitioners in Nigeria.

Senator Adeyemi stressed that the amendment to the Nigerian Council of Legal Education law is to encourage the Federal Government to increase the number of law schools across the six geopolitical zones in the country.

He enthused that the Bill will rescue the future of Nigerian youths, safe parents from the burden of prolonged dependency, and reposition the Nigerian Law School for optimal service delivery.

The passage of the Bill followed the adoption of the recommendation of the Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters that considered the Bill.

Chairman of the Committee, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele presented the report.
The existing Law School campuses are located in Lagos (Southwest); Abuja (North Central); Yola, Adamawa State (Northeast); Kano (Northwest); Enugu (Southeast) and Yenegoa, Bayelsa State (South-South).

The additional campuses approved by the Senate are Kabba Law School Campus, Kogi State (Northcentral); Maiduguri Law School Campus, Borno State (Northeast); and Argungu Law School Campus, Kebbi State (Northwest).

Others are Jos Law School Campus, Plateau State (North Central); Okija Law School Campus, Anambra State (Southeast); Orogun Law School Campus, Delta State (Southsouth) and Ifaki Law School Campus, Ekiti State (Southwest).

Spread the love