Kogi Seeks Speedy Criminal Justice Reform

Spread the love

Kogi State’s desire is to en-sure speedy criminal justice reform, its Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice Ibrahim Mohammed (SAN) has said.

He spoke at a workshop on the sensitisation and implementation of the state’s Administration of Criminal Justice Law 2017, organised by the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) with the MacArthur Foundation in Lokoja.

Sanni, who represented Governor Yahaya Bello, said: “I must appreciate my governor, the new direction advocate, for the role he played in the passage of this law.

“It might interest you to know that the law, in the case of Kogi State, was a combination of both executive and legislative Bills.

“It is on record that without the knowledge of the fact that the Administration of Criminal Justice Bill, 2017 had gone through the first reading at the House of Assembly, the Executive Arm of Government ably led by the Governor, presented the same bill to the House of Assembly for consideration and passage into law.

“This goes to demonstrate the extent to which Kogi State of today, desires a reform in the Criminal Justice Delivery System.

“I must, therefore, also appreciate the Hon. Speaker Rt. Hon. Prince Mathew Kolawole, the leadership, the relevant House Committee, and the membership of the House of Assembly, for not treating the scenario above as rivalry, but simply harmonising the bills into one and speedily passing same while following the due process.

“The Bar in Kogi State has also been at the front burner of the vanguard for passing the Law. I am aware that, despite very short notice, the Bar assembled a team to consider and make input at the public hearing of the Bill before its passage into Law,” he said.

The essence of the NBA Public Forum on the law was to sensitise the states on the need to improve the Criminal Justice System by enacting the Administration of Criminal Justice Law.

A  MacArthur State engagement committee for Kogi State was set up, with the following members: Muizdeen Y. Abdullahi (Chairman), Theophilus Oteme (alternate chairman), Isyaka Idege, Friday Ogwo, Audu Onuche, Abbas Sumaila, Mrs Deborah Mus and Mrs. H. E Yusuf.

They are to be assisted by Oluwadamilare Ojo, Eyo Onoja and Umar Gezawa.

Credit: Nation

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *