Kogi Assembly Suspends 7 Local Govt Chairmen for Engaging in Electoral Violence

Spread the love

Kogi State House of Assembly on Thursday placed seven local government chairmen on indefinite suspension for their alleged involvement in electoral violence during the just concluded elections.

The affected chairmen are that of Bassa, Hon Muktari Shaibu with his Vice Chairman, the Chairman of Ogori/Magongo, Hon Goke Okparison and his Vice, Chairman of Yagba West, Hon Pius Kolawole, the Chairman of Ibaji LGA, Chairman of Kabba/Bunu, Hon Moses Olorunleke and his Vice, Adebimpe Alfred, Chairman of Adavi LGA, Joseph Omuya, and Mustapha Akaaba of Ajaokuta, LGA.

Meanwhile, a seven-man ad hoc committee headed by the Deputy Speaker, Rt Hon Rabiu Alfa has been set up by the House to investigate the suspended chairmen and vice chairmen.

The committee Secretary is Bayero Jiya.

In an another development, the House also placed the Chairman of Lokoja Local Government, Hon Dansabe Muhammed, on suspension based on allegation of misappropriation of various sums of money amounting to the tune N150 million.

The councillors and the Vice Chairman of the local government had written a petition to the House, accusing the council Chairman of reckless financial spending and misappropriation of public funds without recourse to the rule of law.

Spread the love