Kogi APC Leaders Pass Vote of Confidence on Senator Dino Melaye

Spread the love

…Kogi government heading towards political cul-de-sac.

By Olatunde Odimayo.

The leadership of the All Progressive Congress (APC) in Kogi state have passed a vote of confidence on Senator Dino Melaye, lawmaker representing Kogi West, in the interest of Kogi state citizens.

According to a communique issued at the end of Kogi State APC leaders’ meeting held in Abuja on Wednesday, the leaders declared total support for all the positions canvassed by Senator Dino Melaye in matters of Kogi State saying the lawmaker took up the struggle on behalf of the good people of the State.

The party however expressed worries by the political bickering vis-à-vis parlous state of affairs in Kogi State under Governor Yahaya Bello.

The leaders, while giving approval to all the steps taken so far by the state executive of the APC in Kogi State led by its Chairman, Alhaji Haddy Ametuo also observed that the state government under Governor Yahaya Bello is not only in a confused state of affairs, but heading towards political cul-de-sac.

The communique reads in parts;

“The Governor Yahaya Bello’s anti-party activities led to the loss of two APC Senators’ seats, one House of Representatives seat and 2 State House of Assembly members’ seats to the opposition PDP thereby causing a huge set-back to our party in Kogi State.

“Those positions mentioned above were won during the 2015 elections before Alhaji Yahaya Bello joined the APC and his subsequent emergence as the Governor of Kogi State.

“The only senatorial seat left for the Kogi State APC family in the Senate is being harassed by Governor Yahaya Bello and cohorts as evidenced by the on-going charade known as re-call exercise, which is pregnant with forgeries and absurdities.

“We are concerned that many weeks after the submission of the Chief Tony Momoh’s Reconciliation Report, the National Leadership of our Party, APC, is yet to take any step towards the implementation of its recommendations”

They also admonished the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) not to waste its scarce resources in sustaining the on-going recall fraud being allegedly perpetuated by the government of Kogi State.

Among the 20 Kogi APC leaders who signed the communique are Senator Alex Kadir, Senator Mohammed Salami Ohiare, Senator Nicholas Ugbane, Senator Dangana E. Ocheja, Senator Abdulrahman Abubakar, Rt. Hon Clarence Olafemi, Rt. Hon. Abdullahi Bello, Hon Mohammed Idris and Alhaji (Prince) Mohammed Audu.

Others are Hon. Duro Meseko, Alhaji Abubakar Rajab, Pharm. A. Zakari,  Chief Michael Ozovehe,  Chief Lawrence Gbenga Asagun, Hon (Dr) Idris Jimoh, Engr. S. A. Ezekiel, Dr Tom Ohikere, Alhaji Sanusi Abubakar and Alhaji Haddy Ametuo.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *