2021 Awards: Kogi Adjudged One of Best States to Host the NMMA

Spread the love

Kogi state has been applauded for hosting one of the best editions of the prestigious annual Nigeria Media Merit Award (NMMA).

Participants commended the seamless organization, quality engagement, hospitality, security and glamour added to the 29th edition of NMMA successfully hosted by Kogi state.

The award ceremony came to an end on Sunday morning with Kogi state standing tall as host of the 4-day event.

The grant award presentation ceremony which was attended by eminent personalities within and outside the shore of the country, captain of industries, government officials and residents of Kogi state kick-started at 8:30 pm and ended by 2:30 am on Sunday.

In his welcome address, the Chairman NMMA Board of Trustees, Dr Haroun Al-Rashid Adamu, commended the Kogi State Governor Yahaya Bello for hosting the 29th edition of the Nigeria Media Merit Award.

Chief host, Governor Yahaya Bello in his address at the occasion, charged media organizations and practitioners to imbibe self-regulation to tackle the menace of fake news capable of destabilizing the nation.

According to him, sanitizing the media industry and keeping it professional is a job the media practitioners must do for themselves, saying the government cannot help to avoid being caught in the web of censorship.

“The bravest and most professional individuals among you need to set examples in standing up to these giant forces for the more timid ones.

“They can do that by remaining resolutely true to what is ethical, actual or factual, no matter whose ox is gored. The profession needs to institutionalize reward and punishment systems for professional misconduct in the line of duty,” he said.

While commending the NMMA awards for provoking the pursuit of excellence by media practitioners, Governor Bello charged media organizations to go the extra mile and come up with innovative methods to help stem the tide of unprofessional behaviour in the media industry.

“I would suggest that you become creative in naming and shaming those who deal in inaccurate reportage. For instance, you could institute another set of awards like they have in some countries like the USA to name and shame those, individuals and media houses alike, who carry the fake news or hates related news every year,” he suggested.

He congratulated all the awardees and described them as the shining lights of the 4th estate of the realm and charged them to maintain high levels of professional conduct and performance going forward.

Highlight of the event was the merit award ceremony which saw several media house and personalities winning different awards for excellence.

The Nation Newspaper carted away 16 awards, The Punch Newspaper took 11awards, New Telegraph Newspaper came third with 4 awards, Vanguard and The Guardian Newspapers got 3 awards each, while Channel Television was declared as television station of the year, beating TVC and Arise television stations.

Raypower won Station of the Year Award, Sarah Osanyinlusi Presenter of the Year and Joke Fayemi clinched the Reporter of the Year Award.

Spread the love